my dearest cik rahimah…

Posted on April 7, 2008

0


i initially wanted to blog about another topic. but, to me, this is a much more important and close to my heart. so, i’ll postpone my initial post for another time.

it was during my secondary schooling years that i have known her. never too close but there is still a lingering attachment. it was physical education that many people would not have cared for. i am one of those. it was just for play, nothing more, nothing less.

through her, there are some things that i have learned albeit little things. cholesterol, tennis, …. etc… nevertheless, she was a nice lady and we respected her. (by we, i meant my class at that time) the knowledge of her having cancer was a shock to everybody in school at that period of time. she took time off her work to undergo surgery. then, another period of time to recuperate. it was expected. all who knew about cancer knows about the ability of cancer to strike again. when it comes again, usually it’s more difficult to handle. (i’m using real easy-to-understand english here because i seems to have given back everything to my teacher after my exam….)

i know. but like i said, i was never close to her. so, after graduation, her sickness and her existence was never mentioned again. however, at 6pm, malaysian time, 07/04/2008, cik rahimah, once my physical education teacher, passed away. it was my own clumsiness for forgetting my phone and thus not allowing myself to be contacted that i knew about this so late at night.

i’ve always had regrets regarding deaths. it seems to accumulate and in the end, suffocates me. the sadness wells up before erupting into a sea of frustration and tears. may you rest in peace, my dearest teacher. you will always be alive in my mind and heart.

love,
natalie
07042008/10.00pm